Giving up the “one day” for today

One day when I’m in a new job… then I’ll be happy.

One day when my schedule settles down… then I’ll start working out. 

One day when I have more time… then I’ll start cooking.

One day when I lose the last 5 pounds… then I’ll love my body. 

One day when I’m not so busy… then I’ll catch up with my friend.

One day when I get that raise… then I’ll take the trip I’ve always wanted.

One day… then…

Fill in the blank with whatever sounds “right” for you. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve uttered these or similar phrases. Even more often have I thought them. It’s a common problem — we always think things will be better once we get acquire that next right thing. We’ll finally be happy once we do the thing.

Has that ever been true? I’ve convinced myself of this so many times and each time it’s not as fabulous as I had imagined. The joy, excitement, happiness are fleeting and then I’m right back out searching for the next fix of goodness. When I’m placing my ultimate happiness and fulfillment of my life on external circumstances I will always come up short.

I’ve felt especially convicted of that this week.

I’ve been wanting to get fully back on track with my health and fitness lately, but something in me keeps holding me back from really going for it. The best time to start is today. I shouldn’t let past slip ups (like weekend splurges) completely derail my efforts. I know these to be true, but I’m hanging on to one day.

“Well I’m going away this weekend, so I’ll really get started next Monday.”

I’ve actually been taking a lot of trips lately, so this has been a common thought. At first, it seemed okay. “Yeah, you’re right. You’ll do much better if you start on a Monday. If you start now you’ll just have to take a break in the middle of the program, so just wait.”

Yall, I am way too good at justifying things that I maybeeee don’t really want to do.

Deep down in my heart I know it’ll be best for me if I put in 100% effort. Yes, summer is coming up so I want to feel most confident in my bikini, but bigger than that is my long term health. I guess I’ve been having a hard time because what’s pushing things back one week when I have my whole life to get healthy and fit??

I don’t know about you, but the way things are going in my fitness life is a direct reflection of the other areas. If I’m focused, giving my all, and really committed, that positive energy and determination shows up in other areas. I’m a better wife, dog momma, friend, coworker, etc.

It’s definitely been that reflection. I’ve been letting myself slack and so I’ve been pushing off things in other areas too. That “one day” mentality is creeping into other areas and I’m not a fan.

Enough is enough.

I’m claiming back control of my own happiness and fulfillment.

I’m letting go of the power “one day” has on me.

download.pngYou know the saying, we always think the grass is greener on the other side. But truth, it’s greener where you water it.

Stop giving the destination the power! The destination can be amazing, wonderful, exciting, but really it’s just the next step. Once you’re there, you’ll be looking for the next one, so don’t get caught there.

Keep your head up, eyes open, and priorities straight.

So here I am making a commitment to you. I am not going to continue to put things off for that magical day when everything comes together. I’m going to make it happen now. My happiness, my joy, my health, my relationships. They deserve my attention now with whatever I’ve got.

What you’ve been waiting for is sitting next to you — will you stop and notice it?

unnamed-1

 

Leave a Reply

