Learning to Trust

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 8.35.45 PM.png

I’ve struggled with trust.

I’ve posted about it before. I’ve worked on it. I’ve acknowledged it. Yet it still continues to be an area of weakness for me.

I enjoy having a plan.

I enjoy following said plan.

I enjoy knowing what’ll come next and being completely prepared.

But that’s not really the way things work. God doesn’t expect me to know all the steps. Sometimes I find myself not even being able to see 5 feet in front of me.

He invites me to trust. To rest. To slow down. To just focus on what’s next. Not what’s a week from now. A month from now. A year from now. Not the final outcome. But just the next right step.

I am in a season of transition. I’ve made a transition in my business and soon there will be a transition in my “corporate” career. I won’t say much about the details of the upcoming change yet, but what I can say is that I feel different.

For the first time {maybe ever} I feel peace. Even though change is scary and unsure. I feel peace knowing that I can trust in my Creator. I can trust in His plan and I believe that what He has in store for me is good.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

I had an interview today. It may or may not be the next big step in this exciting/scary/hopeful journey. But no matter what happens I trust.

I was myself and I did the best I could do. It’s all in God’s hands now and that feels safe! He’s holding me and my future securely in His hands. I’m not sure what’s exactly in store, but I know it’s good!

There is a definite change happening in my heart. This is not the reaction of Rachel in the past. Past Rachel would be worrying, doubting, consumed. Still trying to plan even though that’s not her place. The change of heart feels so good. My soul can rest because there’s trust.

If you’re in a similar place — a place of unsure, fear, doubt, figuring out next right step — be encouraged that good things are coming! I can’t tell you what the right answer will be or what path to take, but I can tell you it will work out. I guarantee it! You got this!!! Keep doing your best. Keep going where you’re guided. Keep doing the work even when it feels like it doesn’t matter. Because it does.

Bigger and better things are on the other side. Trust.

Put down your plans, put down your guards and allow yourself to be carefully carried to the depths of the goodness in store for you.

unnamed-1

Leave a Reply

