A weekend in Charleston

It’s safe to say: I’m officially obsessed with Charleston.

I’m sure anyone that has been totally understands why. Last weekend was my first Charleston experience, but definitely not my last! I’ve lived in North Carolina pretty much all my life. I’ve been to Myrtle Beach and Columbia… guess I just never really had an excuse to venture to Charleston. But what better time to visit than a girls weekend to celebrate a dear friend’s bachelorette!?

Pop the champagne!

Amazing seafood, beautiful views (literally everywhere you look), rich culture. What’s not to love!? I just have to give you a glimpse into our weekend cause it was too fun not to share!

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 10.20.52 PM

I had my first true crab leg experience. It’s probably best I don’t have any evidence to share… there was a battle wound involved thanks to the prickly crab leg. I’ve never had to work so hard for my food, but it was worth it!

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 9.39.28 PM.png

The Bride Tribe – ready for our amazing brunch!

If you’re looking for delicious shrimp and grits, Page’s is the place to go! It’s in Mount Pleasant which is just a short drive over the bridge. I’m not the biggest seafood person, but when in Charleston, right!? Their shrimp and grits were featured on the Travel Channel and I totally understand why. Fresh shrimp, deep fried grits – heavenly!

Walking through the streets, I’m in love. The details. The history. The palm trees. And churches at every turn. I believe there’s 144 churches just within Charleston… amen!

Saturday was a packed day! After brunch we explored The Market. It was a shopper’s dream! A ton of vendors selling unique pieces – baskets, clothing, jewelry, artwork, soaps, bath bombs, candles, prints – the list goes on. I had to give myself a spending limit, there was so much goodness! Big tip for the market: don’t buy the first thing you see. You may or may not find something better. Do a lap, assess your needs/wants and the items available, THEN do the spending.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 9.47.41 PM.png

Next up: a distillery tour! We visited the Charleston Distilling Co. – friendly people, adorable pups (we learned they’re the owners), and good liquor. We got an inside peek into how it all goes down and got to sample all their liquors. I am totally not a shot girl, so it was a challenge. Those 1/4 shots really got me 😉

We learned a lot about the process, most of which went over my head. Whoops! But I did learn the brown liquor (maybe whiskey? rye? I’m not sure..) actually comes out clear and then the barrels give it the color. By law, barrels can only be used once. Who knew?? Also, they hand bottle all their liquors. Rockstars! At least for now until they get their automatic bottling system.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 9.47.55 PM

Hottest pepper in the world – the Carolina Reaper

I was MOST afraid to try the Carolina Reaper. A cross between the Ghost pepper and a red habanero – not something you want to mess with! Our guide was telling us about the crazies that actually try to eat this pepper as a challenge. Just don’t. It doesn’t end well. Apparently the creator is just waiting for someone to try to outdo him because he’s created one even hotter! You won’t find me anywhere near that thing.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 10.04.15 PM.png

I think my favorite part had to be the carriage tour. It got much chillier than anticipated, but it was so cool to see the sights and learn about the history. We loved our horse, Big John. He seemed to love us too ❤

According to our carriage guide, there is a 75 year rule in Charleston. Instead of tearing things down, they want to preserve. It can only be moved by God’s hands, not human hands. She told us about a house that actually had the back falling over. They just had to prop that sucker up!

No matter how new the house is, you can’t tell! All homes have to be built with the Charleston style. You wouldn’t be able to tell the difference between a 10 year old house and a 100 year old house. The history and atmosphere flows seamlessly throughout the whole city. I’ve never truly seen anything like it!

I wish I had been able to record the entire tour because there were so many interesting stories and facts, I could barely keep up! For example, one of the gorgeous homes near The Battery was actually a wedding gift from the bride’s father. On the day of her wedding, he gave her a large sum of money and left a note instructing her to build her dream home. And that’s what she built. I wouldn’t have minded waking up to that on July 9, 2016 😉

Even on a windy, dreary day The Battery was flawless. A site for many weddings, hopefully no brides were having their big day on the Sunday we left. I’m sure it still would have been gorgeous, but quite chilly!

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 10.20.12 PM

Nothing better than the calmness of water. I could have walked along this waterline all day. Except again, it was freezing. I’m a baby… But next time for sure. Which I’m praying is sometime soon! Seeking any excuse to getaway to this place!

Would it have been a visit to Charleston without the iconic Rainbow Row!?

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 10.21.01 PM

Charleston, until we meet again. Truly, a city after my own heart.

Who’s going back with me!?

unnamed-1

 

One thought on “A weekend in Charleston

Leave a Reply

