This week’s favorites | 3 Easy Meals

There is nothing I love more than an easy and delicious meal!

We didn’t always used to be this way. Years ago, we ate out for a good majority of dinners, many lunches too. Goodness, no wonder my weight was up, my energy and bank accounts were down, and most of the time my stomach hurt after eating…

Fast forward to now and we eat at home for a majority of our meals. We do date night once a week which is usually dinner out somewhere or picked up, but other than that, we try our best to cook and eat at home. Our wallets and waistlines thank us 😉

I used to be a total loser in the kitchen. I wasn’t confident in my cooking skills, so Eric grilled a lot. That has changed too! I think he would agree that I’ve come a long way in the kitchen.

I say that because what you’re gonna get from me isn’t anything fancy or super involved. That’s not my style – it more stresses me out. So if you feel the same way, check out these 3 recipes we made this week. Maybe you can add then to your upcoming meal plan!

1: Chicken Sausage & Veggies

Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 2.18.56 PM.png

We eat a lot of chicken, so when we were shopping I was looking for a way to mix up my meals! I came across this organic chicken sausage. It was meant for breakfast I assume with a sweeter flavor and little apple bits mixed in, but it paired well with these veggies. This got me through lunches for the week.

Ingredients: chicken sausage (5 links), 4 bell peppers, 1 onion

Instructions:

  • Clean and cut up bell peppers & onion
  • In a sauce pan, saute veggies (I used coconut oil to saute)
  • In a separate pan, heat up chicken sausage (I did until outside was browning)
  • Cut up sausage
  • Meal prep for your week!

2: Flatbread Pizza!

Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 2.23.46 PM.png

This is one of our go tos for a few reasons: my husband loves pizza and it’s a great way to use leftover chicken. You can also mix this up however you’d like with a different sauce or toppings!

Ingredients: Flatbread, sauce of your choice (BBQ for us), cheese (mozzarella is our fave), toppings (I work in spinach whenever I can and leftover chicken!)

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Add desired sauce and toppings to flatbread
  • Cook for 10-12 mins

3: Stuffed Peppers

This was my first time ever making stuffed peppers, so I was nervous how they would turn out, but I was pleasantly surprised! We had a few bell peppers left over from the first recipe, so this was a great solution. They’re also awesome to use up any leftovers! You can totally make this your own – we kept it pretty basic for the first go round.

Ingredients: bell peppers (1 per person), chicken, black beans, mozzarella cheese

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Cut off tops of bell peppers and scrape out any seeds/membranes
  • Sprinkle insides of peppers with 1 tsp salt
  • Par cook the peppers – place in a baking dish with about a cup of water (enough to cover bottom) and cover tightly with aluminum foil. Cook for 10 mins
  • Make filling – prepare whatever ingredients you’re using. I had the chicken in the slow cooker during the day and shredded. I cooked the beans until boiling. In a large bowl, combine prepared ingredients.
  • Fill the peppers – divide mixture evenly between peppers and top with cheese
  • Bake uncovered until the peppers are softened, the filling is hot, and the cheese is melted, about 15-20 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes before serving.

•••••••••••••••••••••

The beauty of these 3 recipes is you can totally mix it up however best suits your preferences and what you already have on hand! Preparing food for you and your family doesn’t have to be a stressful experience. Do what you can with what you have and go from there! I hope these recipe ideas will nourish your body and make your meal planning a bit easier!

Share: What’s your go to week day meal?

unnamed-1

Leave a Reply

