Jan Progress & Feb Goals

Hello, friend! Can you believe we’re already in February!? Where did January go? The month felt like a blur – birthday celebrations, dinners, parties, work, meetings, to do lists, friends, family, recovering from the holidays. I guess it’s no wonder why January felt like a flash.

For many of us, we move so quickly through the first month that we may still feel like nothing happened. We were so busy getting everywhere and moving to the next thing that our goals still feel just as far away as they did December 31st.

Intentional living. That’s what I want for 2017. And really for every year that follows. That means goal setting, planning, and flexibility at times.

Although January feels like it went by so quickly, I’m proud of the progress I made in its 31 days and the lessons that are already seeping into my heart.

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 11.57.27 AM.png

I do well with lists. They focus my attention and remind of I’ve determined to do when I’m tempted to get off track. Lots of marked off boxes means I’ve moved towards my goals even if it didn’t always feel that way.

This was my first month being this intentional. In the beginning I would feel frustrated and disappointed if I was able to mark something off. That’s the “perfectionist” in me. And that’s the the quality I’m trying to move away from. About half way through the month my heart started changing.

I began to realize my value isn’t determined by this page. It’s simply a tool. It’s a magnifying glass to the areas of my life I’ve deemed most important for this month. It shows me where I’m doing well and where more attention is needed.

That felt good. The pressure was off. I could live and do my best, but not feel the guilt afterwards if I wasn’t perfect. Some days I was and got all the boxes marked off. Some days I wasn’t. Either way, I knew I gave my best effort for that day.

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 11.57.59 AM.png

One major lesson learned – I’m not expected to do it all.

I’m cultivating…

Relationships.
Our finances.
A simplified, peaceful space to live.
A deeper relationship with God.
A healthy body and mind.
Gratitude.
Creativity.

I feel so good knowing those are the types of things growing in my life. When good things grow, bad things don’t have the space. There’s no room for comparison, self doubt, jealousy, negative mindsets, toxic relationships.

I’m working on creating margin in my life for the goodness. It’s a new idea for me – I don’t have to jam pack my schedule to be successful. I need to leave space for the good things to grow. Margin is becoming my favorite word.

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 11.58.10 AM.png

 

So what’s next!? Here we are in February and I’m thrilled about what’s to come in this month. At first I was excited to try to do better about marking those boxes, but really I’m joyful to see what grows in this month.

More cultivating. More growth. More focus on becoming the woman God has designed me to be. The strong, loving, encouraging wife, dog mom, coach, friend, sister, daughter.

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 12.01.49 PM.png

The ironic thing is one of my monthly goals is to create more margin, yet every single line on this page is filled. Not exactly margin I suppose…

I was worried about that and thought maybe I should start crossing out some items. But then I realized by putting my focus here on these things, I will create margin. I can confidently decline other things that try to come into my life this month if they don’t align with the goals I have set.

Since margin is a new thing for me, I really need a guideline. Prayer and this page will help be that guideline I can measure other opportunities and requests against. I would love to do it all, but I can’t. And I won’t.

Thank you for being my accountability and my support. Thank you for taking the time to glimpse into my months. I pray that you will move intentionally through February and it will be your most fruitful month yet!

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 11.57.48 AM.png

Remember this. Just because it’s not huge steps forward doesn’t mean you’re not making progress. All the baby steps add up. Friend, I’m cheering you on every step of the way!

Share: What step will you take today to move closer to where you want to be tomorrow?

unnamed-1

Leave a Reply

