Simple 1 Pan Meal

Untitled.jpg

My cooking style: simple. I don’t like to mess with too many ingredients or too many steps. Mostly because it overwhelms me, but also because aint nobody got time for that!

I was never much of a cook, but over the last several months I’ve really taken over the meals for our family – proud and impressed with how my skills have improved! A big reason for this is because I do keep it simple. I know what we like and I know how I like to cook, then I seek out meals that allow this to happen. Basically, if I can do this, absolutely anybody can!

One of my go to “fancy” meals is my salmon, sweet potato, and asparagus dish. I made it earlier this week and ended up having leftover sweet potato and asparagus. Chicken is a staple in our household, so this dish was a perfect way to put those ingredients to use.

I’ve heard a lot about the benefits of bone broth lately, so I thought this would be a good reason to try it out! I picked up this one from my local grocery store.

Gluten free, paleo, and a perfect solution to a busy weeknight dinner: 30 minutes to a healthy and delicious meal!

Ingredients

  • 1 lb boneless chicken breasts {this was 2 breasts for me}
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • Himalayan sea salt and pepper
  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup chicken bone broth or water
  • 1/2 pound fresh asparagus {cut in diagonals in 1-2 inch pieces}
  • All purpose seasoning/extra spices to your flavor!

Instructions

  1. On a cutting board, cut chicken into small pieces and season with salt/pepper.
  2. In a large pan over medium heat, add coconut oil and chicken. Sauté for 7-10 mins or until cooked through, not forgetting to stir well! Move chicken aside in pan.
  3. In same pan, add sweet potato and chicken bone broth. Cook for 7-10 mins.
  4. Add asparagus and cook for 4-5 mins.
  5. Season with your favorite spices.
  6. Enjoy your meal and give yourself a pat on the back. Awesome job!

Screen Shot 2017-01-13 at 6.39.33 PM.png

This recipe actually made 4 servings, so we each were able to have lunches ready to go for 2 days. Even yummy to reheat and there’s really nothing better than already having lunch ready to go! Give it a try and let me know what you think! The beauty of this recipe!? It’s so easy to remake it a million times substituting different veggies or even types of potatoes.

Share: What’s your favorite dinner time combo?

unnamed-1

3 thoughts on “Simple 1 Pan Meal

  1. Emily says:

    I made the same thing this week. Just went to the fridge and started cooking random things until I had a dish. It was very good and the leftovers for lunch were even better. If you like spinach and broccoli, I added both near the end for some extra bulk.

Leave a Reply

