2017 Word of the Year

screen-shot-2016-12-22-at-6-57-09-am

Is anybody else still a bit in disbelief that it’s the end of the year!? It seems like time is flying by – but sure enough 2017 is quickly approaching!!! I’ve been doing a lot of prep for the new year with my PowerSheets and Passion Planner… lets just say I’m expectant of many good things for the new year!

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.
– Jeremiah 29:11

I started this practice last year without much guidance. I made a vision board and chose a word that I wanted to really focus on for 2016. That word is still one of my favorites and something I strive for everyday. 2016’s word was intention. I was focused on being intentional with all things – my job, my wellness coaching business, my relationships, my time, etc. It’s still a work in progress {not sure you ever really arrive}, but I definitely made great improvements!

For 2017, I wanted something new and fresh. A word I could lean into and let sum up what I wanted for my new year. No pressure or anything… I knew the task at hand and just let it sit for some days. I thought about it, prayed about it, did some Google searches. There’s really no right or wrong when it comes to something like this, but I wanted to be sure to give it the time and effort it deserved.

Are you ready for it??

2017 is the year of Become.

It definitely wasn’t one of the first words I thought of. Actually, some others I played with first made more “sense.” There were more at the forefront of my mind. Words like flourish, empower, faith, gratitude, trust, simple – all great words! Nothing really stuck out to me though…

On December 6th I was journaling during my quiet time and it hit me. It was the very last word I wrote down and I felt a nudge. I couldn’t stop thinking about it and the next day I realized this is what the coming year will be about.

Screen Shot 2016-12-22 at 7.16.09 AM.png

2017 will be a year of growth. Positive transformation. Becoming more like the woman God designed me to be. A strong leader. A loving wife. A giving friend. A hard working coworker. An uplifting & encouraging coach. In all areas, I want to be new. I am so proud of the progress I’ve made up until this point, but I know there is so much goodness ahead. We can’t afford to settle. We can’t be good with good enough. We were designed for greatness. 

It sounds amazing, but I understand it’ll also be a year of hard work and challenges. Growing isn’t comfortable. Remember those growing pains you experienced growing up? I can remember having them and barely being able to sleep because I was so uncomfortable. That be may be a bit of what this year will feel like, but I think that would happen anyways. I’d rather be prepared for it 😉 The positive change is worth it.

It’ll mean absolutely trusting in God and leaning on His strength and guidance. I want to grow in the direction of the path He’s laid out for me. I won’t have the answers. I won’t exactly know the next step. I may not understand where I’m heading. But I’m okay with that. I trust He will continue to be the lamp to my feet as He’s always been and will place the right people in my life to walk with me. It’s amazing how He shows up!

Phew, this sounds a bit scary and overwhelming now that I’m writing it out. But it’s going to be an amazing journey. One day at a time ❤

I encourage you to choose a word for 2017 – think, pray, discuss, write… whatever you have to do. The best way to end up where you want to be is to take the small steps each day towards it. The time will pass anyways, why not be inspired and moving closer to your goals!? 

Flourishingly,

Rachel ❤

Leave a Reply

