Overcoming Overwhelm

 

When it rains, it pours. Isn’t that the truth?? If you don’t mind me being honest, I have felt quite overwhelmed lately. And I’m sorry if this will sound like whining, but this is what’s going on in my world right now.

I live a blessed life and I don’t take that for granted {well maybe I accidentally do sometimes}, but sometimes it feels like too much. I have been juggling quite a bit for the past 11 months. I work full time, I’ve been planning a wedding that we are now a month away from, I am a fit lifestyle coach and I try to have a life in between there. I am blessed, but I am tired.

I go to bed way too late trying to fit everything into my day and wake up exhausted the next to do it all over again. The struggle is real and it’s a trap I find myself in. I live for the weekends because that means no work, but it also means fitting in everything I didn’t get to during the week. Does that sound familiar??

I live by my planner, but I often jam pack it and then feel defeated when everything on my list doesn’t get done. I have a to do list then I fill into the time slots of my day, but I often book things back to back  and lose steam. I try to do it all.

And you might try to do it all as well. Our world is so fast paced. It’s easy to feel inadequate. I feel like I’m never doing enough. But the truth is, I don’t have to. I cannot be everything to everybody. I am working on letting go.

I am striving to create margin in my life. Space in my day for spontaneity or just relaxation. Moments I can breathe and enjoy. Time that I can spend however I choose. Is it bad that I have to put “RELAX” on my to do list??

There is a season for everything. The one I have been in over the last 11 months has been crazy. It’s pulled me in a lot of different directions, but it’s also showing me what’s truly important. Not everything requires my attention. I am learning how to say “no.”

I will get there. I will look back on this time of my life as a huge learning and growth experience. God is showing me how much I can handle and how much I desperately need Him. I am powerless in my own strength. I cannot help feeling overwhelmed, but I can trust and sit back because I know who is really in control.

And it’s not me as much as I would like it to be. We can do this!

Leave a Reply

