Motivation HACKS

I get the question all the time from my coaches and challengers: “How do I get motivated again?” “How do I get back on track?” You may have been asking yourself that question too – I’m here to help!

I want to preface this with a few things… 1) Motivation will come and go. 2) It is normal if you’re not “feeling it” if you’ve been doing “it” for a while. 3) Motivation is what’s going to get you started, but habit is what keeps you going.

With those things in mind, if you’re still seeking motivation lets chat! This an apply to any area of life, but the area I deal with it most prominently is health and fitness. I have 3 steps for you to MAKE IT HAPPEN and reignite that spark!

  1. Decide.
    This is the very first step because until you make that decision, nothing is going to get accomplished. You must have that talk with yourself and make a clear choice. You can either DO or not. You are making this thing a nonnegotiable. Not committing to it if it’s easy, convenient, or fun. You are committed. Point blank. I hate to break it to you, but there will be many times it won’t be easy, convenient, OR fun, but it will be worth it!
  2.  Determine your WHY
    When times get tough, you need something that will push you through. Something that’ll keep you going when you’re ready to call it quits. This is your WHY. The deeper, the better. Lets say you have decided you want to lose 10 pounds. Okay, that’s great. Now WHY do you want to do that?? To fit into your clothes better, to increase your confidence, to become healthier, etc. Whatever it is for you! A deep seeded WHY will allow you to endure any WHAT or HOW!
  3. Devise your action plan.
    At this point, you’re ready to put your decision into action. No matter how committed you are or how deep seeded your why is, if you don’t actually put in the work you will not see any changes. Take it further than just thinking about it. Write it down! Schedule it into your calendar. Set a reminder on your phone. Do what you gotta do! For me in my fitness, this means I’m scheduling my workout each day just like an important appointment. I’m planning out my meals. I’m blocking out time to grocery shop and prep my food. When you leave your goals to chance it’s only a chance you’ll achieve them. You are worth more than that!

It’s time to get to it!!! What are you motivated to do!? Leave a comment below – I would love to hear it and cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

