My good morning ritual

I am someone that LOVES routine. I know, it sounds really boring, but I don’t care. I am a planner by nature and I like to know what to expect. Now don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy surprises and being spontaneous, but in my normal day to day, routine is KEY for me!

Why do I love routine so much? Because I know what to expect. And when I know what to expect, I can better predict my outcome. Does this make sense? I have a lot on my plate as I’m sure every single person reading this does too. Our world is fast paced and we are constantly getting flooded with more and more responsibilities, social media sites, notifications, people that need us, etc. If I don’t plan on being productive and successful, it becomes very difficult to be those things.

I know this from personal experience. Just yesterday, I woke up way after my usual alarm and had only 20 minutes to get ready before I had to leave for work. This meant not only was I unprepared for the day {luckily I prep my breakfast and lunch the night before}, but I missed out on my whole morning ritual. There is a huge difference in my day when this happens. TODAY on the other hand, I woke up on my first alarm and got moving!

My morning typically goes like this…

5:20am- Alarm goes off
5:25- Workout clothes on, teeth brushed, Stella fed
by 5:30- Press play on our workout DVD {currently doing 21 Day Fix Extreme, my favoriteeee!!}
6:10- Walk Stella
6:25-6:50- Quiet time {read my Bible, journal, create my goal list}
6:55- Create my to do list {this is it’s own blog post, be on the lookout!}
7:00- Shower/audio PD
7:25- Get dressed/audio PD
8:10- Out the door for work {at least I try to be!}

Do you see how many things I miss when I sleep until 7:30!? It throws off my day and then it just piles up the things I have to do during my lunch break or after work. Having this ritual allows me to take control of my day from the very start! I have tackled a big monster- my workout! I am doing good things for myself from the moment I wake up until I leave for work; strengthening my body, mind, and spirit.

Do you have a morning ritual? Have you ever even thought about one? If you don’t have one or haven’t considered one, let me give you some tips…

#1. Determine your priorities
For me, that’s my workout and my Jesus time. If all else fails, I try to get at least one of those done in the morning.

#2. Determine your time of peak performance
If you’re not a morning person, it may not be the best time to tackle a big project. I like to stick to things that are important to me, but for my personal use only – my quiet time. It helps to center me and sets the tone for my day.

#3. Allow yourself some time to breathe
You do not need to jam pack your morning. Allow yourself some buffer time. My timeline does not stick to this every single day, but this is the guideline. Within it, I have allowed extra time so I’m not stressing about my routine. The longer you stick with it, the easier it will be to stay on track and feel productive.

I would love to hear about your morning ritual and if this helped you!

Choose joy today,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

