Fill up your cup

No, I don’t mean your actual cup {although I probably wouldn’t be opposed}. I mean your spiritual cup. The cup in which your joy, passion, creativity, and love overflows from. There is a delicate balance within that cup. If we’re not careful it can dry up…

It is so good to serve others. To love others. To help others. But we cannot be everything for everyone. Especially not in our own strength. We were not made to be superman/woman. We were made to do our absolute best. To do so, we must first take care of ourselves.

When I think about this, sometimes it sounds selfish. Like I should only be worried about myself. But that’s not what I’m saying here! How can you best serve, love, help, others when you have not first taken care of yourself? In order to be “that person” for someone, we have to be whole.

Lately, I have found myself stressed and burnt out. I wake up feeling exhausted and weighted down. Like I have been running a marathon for the past week or two. A talk with a close friend reminded me of something that crossed my mind earlier today: you have to slow down. I feel like it’s very easy to get caught up in the GO GO GO of this world. Things move so quick and I often fear that if I stop, even just for a couple hours at night, I will get way behind and miss out. This could not be further from the truth.

The constant GOING is not sustainable. There are certainly days where this may be necessary. A super busy day at work or jam packed weekend plans, but this is not a plan for the long term. I have a lot on my plate at the moment {as I’m sure most people do}, so I have gotten caught up in the “must do more” mindset. But I am vowing to myself {and to you reading this} that I will take the time to pause. I don’t need to necessarily stop, but just pause to recollect myself. To center my world and refocus. Don’t we need that??

I am committing to at least 30 minutes a day of “me time” – what does this time look like for you? For some people it may be reading a book, exercising, taking a walk, calling up a friend, listening to music, and the list could go on and on. Whatever you choose, find something that will capture your full attention. No scrolling of your phone or dings of notifications. Completely plug into whatever is going to best recharge you. It doesn’t have to be for a long time, but even just 30 minutes a day is 3 and a half hours of the week that you have devoted to your sanity. I would say it’s worth it 😉

Just like how a car will eventually run out of gas if it’s not been refueled, so will we. Take the time to refuel – your mind, body, and soul will thank you for it ❤

Leave a Reply

