Big things are happening

One of these days I’ll learn to write more often – haven’t learned yet, but I figured this is better than nothing. As you may have suspected from the title of this post today, lots of things are/have been changing. I just wanted to share with you what’s going on in my life.

New job – I will be leaving Cisco and moving down the road to Credit Suisse. This is something that I didn’t expect, nor was I necessarily hoping for. The interview was not the best and I left feeling really unsure. I didn’t want to get my hopes up, but 4 days later I get a call about an offer. To say I was shocked would be an understatement. It was completely a God thing – He has a plan for my life and I’m excited about the next step, although I don’t know where it’s taking me. My last day at Cisco is March 4th and I start at Credit Suisse March 9th. Praying for a peaceful and joyous transition.

House hunting – Eric and I have been growing a lot in our relationship. We have come such a long way and are really looking forward to our future together. We have been searching for a home to move into once our lease in Brier Creek is up. While I love the Brier Creek area, I don’t love the amount we’re paying just to rent. I can’t even believe we’re at the age of where we can own something as big as a house, but it’s happening! We have seen a couple houses so far and will see a few more tomorrow. It’s an overwhelming process,  but it’ll be so worth it once we get the keys to our perfect home.

Fitness – This area is something that has been in the works for some time. I have gotten way too comfortable eating whatever I wanted and not taking the best care of myself that I decided it was time for a change. Especially if I’m talking about a future with someone, I want to be my absolute best self. I started the change by working out more often and taking control of what I was eating by using MyFitnessPal. I love that app, but it became stressful to me to track my calories so closely. It’s so hard to be 100% accurate and I felt like I was spending more time figuring out the calories than actually taking care of myself. I purchased a FitBit and I’m so obsessed with it!! I thought I lost it while I was in Richmond visiting friends, luckily it made it back home and even went through the washer (and survived!) It is definitely a great motivator to get me up and move! To take it up a notch, I got involved in the BeachBody craze. After discussing the company with a helpful coach, I decided to take the plunge and I couldn’t be happier. I’m sure there will be a blog post to come dedicated entirely to BeachBody and the 21 Day Fix.

Stella – The baby is getting close to being 1 year old!!! She’s between 10 and 11 months right now. I honestly wasn’t sure if we would all make it to this point. She has been more than a handful, but having a puppy has been one of the biggest challenges of my life. It’s been a challenge for my relationship with Eric. We used to fight so much when we first got her.. about stupid things too, like who was going to get up and feed her, who was going to walk her, etc. Luckily, those arguments only made us stronger and forced us to create a routine that works for us. Whoever says dogs are good practice for kids is definitely right. Although children are not in the plan for a while (obvi, we’re not even engaged yet), it is helpful to get a glimpse of the type of parent he might be one day. Plus I would rather get those silly fights out of the way now than later. While Eric was out of town last weekend I decided to do an experiment. Stella has always slept in her crate and been put in there whenever we leave. We have been leaving her out during short periods so she can get used to be a big girl. With Eric gone, I decided to see what would happen if Stella slept freely in the living room instead of in her crate. It went beautifully! She didn’t mess with anything (pillows included) and even let me sleep it! The most wonderful thing. Puppies are difficult, but it’s so fun to watch them grow up and have those little wins.

I have been working from home the past few days here and there due to our crazy winter weather. I hope everyone is staying warm and cozy! Praying for spring to get here ASAP. Or maybe me and Eric need to start looking at houses in Florida….

Leave a Reply

